Bahamas Cabinet Members Finish Swearing-In at Government House


Above: Incoming Foreign Minister Frederick Mitchell is sworn in (BIS Photo/Letisha Henderson)

By the Caribbean Journal staff

The 11 recently-appointed members of the new Bahamas Cabinet let by Prime Minister Perry Christie completed their swearing-in Friday in a ceremony at Government House.

The new members followed the first eight ministers appointed by Christie, who were sworn in by Governor General Sir Arthur Foulkes during another Government House ceremony on Thursday.

Christie’s Progressive Liberal Party ousted the Free National Movement in last week’s May 7 vote.

The Prime Minister, who also served as Premier from 2002-2007, has named a total of 19 cabinet members, along with Deputy Prime Minister and Works Minister Philip Brave Davis, the Member-Elect for Cat Island, Rum Cay and San Salvador.

For the full list of cabinet members, click here.

Popular Posts