Jamaica Swears in New Lawmakers, Chooses Speaker of the House


Above: Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller and Speaker of the House Michael Peart

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Jamaica’s 63 new MPs were sworn in today at the opening of the new session of Parliament at Kingston’s Gordon House.

MP Michael Peart was chosen as the Speaker of the House of Representatives, while MP Lloyd Smith will serve as Deputy Speaker.

Rev. Stanley Redwood was sworn in as the President of the Senate, 20 of whose 21 members were also sworn in today.

“We commit to serve with humility and dedication to the principles of fairness, justice and equity,” said Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller. “We will uphold the laws of the land and conduct ourselves and the people’s business with integrity, sensitivity and sincerity.”

Opposition Leader Andrew Holness also congratulated the new Members of Parliament and Senators.

“We will rabidly seek out the welfare and benefit of the people of Jamaica,” he said.


Trending Stories

See More