LaRocque Urges CARICOM Member States to Adopt CCJ


Above: the Caribbean Court of Justice

By the Caribbean Journal staff

CARICOM Secretary General Ambassador Irwin LaRocque is reiterating his call for CARICOM Member States to adopt the Caribbean Court of Justice as their final court of appeal.

At present, just three CARICOM countries have signed on to the court, including Guyana, Barbados and Belize.

Trinidad has said it will send its criminal appeals to the court, though not other appeals, while Dominica is moving forward with plans to accede.

“There can be no doubt of the Court’s ability to render well thought out and reasoned judgements that can stand the scrutiny of its most ardent detractors,”

LaRocque said this week in the context of the CCJ’s first-ever sitting in Guyana.

“The CCJ is an integral edifice in the regional architecture as designed within the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas. But arguably, even more important, the Court in both its jurisdictions represents the essence of our independence and sovereignty and is essential to the progress of the integration movement,” LaRocque said.

The Caribbean Court of Justice is seated in Port of Spain, Trinidad.


Trending Stories

See More