St Lucia PM Assumes Chairmanship of Eastern Caribbean Central Bank

By: Caribbean Journal Staff - September 5, 2013

Above: St Lucia

By the Caribbean Journal staff

St Lucia Prime Minister Dr Kenny Anthony has officially assumed the rotating chairmanship of the Monetary Council of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank.

Anthony assumed the post in a ceremony Wednesday at the Sandals Grande St Lucian Resort.

He succeeds St Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister Dr Denzil Douglas in the role, which rotates alphabetically among the eight ECCB member states.

The council is the highest decision-making authority of the ECCB. It is made up of the eight finance ministers of the ECCB member governments.

Following the ceremony, Anthony presented a new communique from the council.

The ECCB member states include Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Popular Posts the beach at the avila hotel in curacao

Delta Is Adding More Nonstop Curacao Flights, Citing “Booming Demand”  

Curacao is hotter than ever, with a wave of new hotels and record-breaking tourism numbers. And just a few months after Delta made its long-awaited return to the island, the carrier is adding even more flights.  The reason? What Delta […]

Looking for a Budget-Friendly Montego Bay Vacation? There's a New Hotel for That  

jamaica new hotel montego bay

It’s home to one of the most famous streets in the Caribbean, named after one of Jamaica’s global music icons: Jimmy Cliff Boulevard.  While the heavily-trafficked street has seen its share of ups and downs in recent decades, that’s been […]

When the Caribbean Island of Montserrat Was the Center of the Pop Music World

air studios in montserrat

Legendary Beatles producer Sir George Martin’s dream was not just to build a recording studio in a Caribbean paradise, but to raise up the fortunes of an island he dearly loved in the process. On Montserrat, for a brief but […]

Related Posts Princess Cruises Caribbean

Princess Cruises’ New Caribbean Voyages

By the Caribbean Journal staff Princess Cruises has released the details on its upcoming 2020-2021 season in the wider Caribbean, with plans for 127 departures across 15 different voyages around the region. That will range from four to 20-day sailings, […]

Dominica’s Geothermal Hopes Get a Big Boost

dominica geothermal

By the Caribbean Journal staff One of the Caribbean’s most ambitious green energy projects is getting a major boost from the World Bank. The global institution has approved a $27 million project to support the construction of a 7mw geothermal […]

Saint Lucia Seeing Increased Cruise Traffic

saint lucia cruise

By the Caribbean Journal staff It’s been a busy holiday cruise season for Port Castries in Saint Lucia. The harbor has seen as much as five ships in port per day since the middle of December, officials told Caribbean Journal. […]


Sign up for Caribbean Journal's free newsletter for a daily dose of beaches, hotels, rum and the best Caribbean travel information on the net.

No. Thank You