IAAF Names Usain Bolt, Shelly-Ann Fraser Pryce Athletes of the Year


Above: Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (centre) with their awards

By teh Caribbean Journal staff

Jamaica’s sprinters remain on top of the world.

Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce swept the IAAF’s Athlete of the Year awards, with both receiving their awards Saturday night in Monaco.

It was the first time Jamaican athletes had won both awards in the same year; Bolt won for the fifth time, while Fraser-Pryce won for the first time.

The prizes include a cash award of $100,000 for each sprinter. The awards were hosted by the IAAF, Prince Albert II of Monaco and IAF & IAAF President Lamine Diack.

Bolt previously won Male Athlete of the Year in 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012. Fraser-Pryce is the first Jamaican woman to win the award since Merlene Ottley in 1990, and just the second ever.

Bolt said he wanted to go for the new 200m World Record in 2014.

“This season will be the one to go for the (200m) World record,” he said. “I want to get ready to attack the World record.”

The goal could be a time of under 19 seconds.


Trending Stories

See More