Caribbean Begins Banning Visitors From Ebola-Affected Countries in Africa


Above: Kingston (CJ Photo)

By the Caribbean Journal staff

A growing number of Caribbean countries are moving to prohibit incoming travel from Ebola-affected countries including Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea.

“With immediate effect, all visitors from Liberia, Sierra Leone, and Guinea will be prohibited from entering the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis until further notice,” the government of St Kitts said in a statement this week. “Prohibition will also be applied to travelers who have visited those countries within the past twenty-one (21) days.”

On Thursday, St Lucia Prime Minister Dr Kenny Anthony announced that his country, too, would be denying entry to visitors from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone “until further notice.”

“Despite the fact that the President of Nigeria has declared that Nigeria is Ebola free, visitors from Nigeria will be required to present a recent medical certificate which clears him/her of the virus, in addition to a VISA to be allowed entry into Saint Lucia,” Anthony said.

Jamaica, Trinidad and Guyana also announced they would be imposing similar bans.

Jamaica is banning anyone who has been in the three aforementioned countries within the last four weeks, while Trinidad is denying entry to anyone from Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone or the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In addition, Trinidad will quarantine for 21 days anyone who has visited any of the countries in the last six weeks.

The pre-emptive bans come as larger countries, particularly the United States, have refused similar bans on unclear grounds.


Trending Stories

See More