Turks and Caicos Governor Appoints Final Two Members to House of Assembly


Above: the Turks and Caicos House of Assembly

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Turks and Caicos Governor Ric Todd has appointed the final two members of the territory’s House of Assembly, in accordance with the Turks and Caicos Constitution Order 2011.

The two appointed members are Ruth Delores Blackman and the Opposition’s appointed member, Clarence Selver.

This follows the governor’s appointment of Lillian Swann-Misick and John Phillips earlier.

There are now 19 members of the Turks and Caicos House of Assembly. Of those, 15 were directly elected by voters in the country’s Nov. 9 vote (the ruling Progressive National Party took eight of those).

Two are appointed by Todd, who also agrees one nomination each from the Premier and the Leader of the Opposition.


Trending Stories

See More