How to Become a Certified Diver on a Caribbean Cruise


Looking to learn to dive and take a cruise around the Caribbean?

Royal Caribbean is now the only cruise line in the world with onboard PADI Five Star Dive Centers, allowing guests to become certified scuba divers on their sailings.

“For the past 16 years Royal Caribbean has worked closely with PADI to develop our onboard dive program,” said Roberta Jacoby, managing director, Global Tour Operations at Royal Caribbean Cruises, Ltd. “No other cruise line offers the opportunity for guests to become PADI certified scuba divers as part of the cruise, making it an ultimate dive trip as well. When guests sign up for the PADI Open Water Diver Course, they receive first-rate training and diver certification, performing their own scuba dives amidst the beautiful and serene waters of multiple Caribbean destinations.”

The premiere scuba course beginz at home with an online course; next, divers test waters in the ship’s pool before heading out to complete the four mandatory open-water training dives, split among two different ports of call.

Upon the return home, guests will be certified divers.

That means exploring hundreds of shipwrecks in destinations like St. Thomas and the British Virgin Islands and vibrant reefs in places like the Belize Barrier Reef.

Royal Caribbean now offers a range of programs, from a 30-minute introductory “Try Dive” program to a reactivate program for those already certified and looking for a refresher.

For a full certification course, guests can enroll in PADI’s Open Water Diver course to complete a scuba diving certification.

— Caribbean Journal Staff


Trending Stories

See More