PNM wins Trinidad election

Trinidad Election Results: Opposition PNM Wins Vote

By: Caribbean Journal Staff - September 8, 2015

A major victory in Trinidad and Tobago

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Trinidad and Tobago has a new government.

Opposition leader Dr Keith Rowley and his People’s National Movement won the country’s election on Monday, ousting the ruling coalition led by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

Rowley will be the country’s new Prime Minister, succeeding Persad-Bissessar, whose term was marred by a series of high-profile cabinet reshuffles.

It was a major turn of politics for the twin-island country, shifting from Persad-Bissessar’s coalition, which had held 29 of 41 seats in Parliament to the PNM’s new government, which took 23 of 41 seats, according to preliminary results.

The Independent Liberal Party, led by the controversial Jack Warner (whose extradition is being sought by the United States government over alleged improprieties during his work with global football governing body FIFA) failed to win a seat.

I want to thank Trinidad and Tobago for demonstrating once again that we can conduct ourselves in a manner that is worthy of the name Trinidad and Tobago,” Rowley told the media.

In a statement, Persad-Bissessar conceded defeat, saying she was “happy to be a citizen.”

Popular Posts cape santa maria

The Best Caribbean Beach Resort You’ve Never Heard of 

There’s a boat just offshore called “Escape.”  It’s bobbing in some of the most brilliant, dynamic turquoise water I’ve ever seen, a few meters from a stretch of sand so bright and so white you have to squint to look […]

Marriott Is Opening Its New St Regis Resort In Aruba 

aruba st regis inside the restaurant with chairs

It was more than a decade ago that Marriott opened its first-ever Ritz-Carlton resort in the Dutch Caribbean: the Ritz-Carlton, Aruba, which at the time was the island’s first true five-star resort.  Fast forward to 2024, and Marriott is set […]

A Tiny New Boutique Hotel Just Opened on a Pink Sand Beach in The Bahamas 

potlatch club pink sand with blue water

The pink sand, the historic cottages, the chic beach bars and luxe villas. You may be thinking of Harbour Island.  But this is another increasingly hip destination in The Bahamas: Governor’s Harbour, Eleuthera, which just welcomed a brand-new boutique hotel.  […]

Related Posts celebrity xcel

Celebrity's New Caribbean Cruise Ship Just Launched Construction

It’s called Xcel, and it’s setting sail in fall 2025 in the Caribbean.  And the newest cruise ship pegged for Celebrity Cruises’ fleet has officially launched construction.  The ship held its official “keel laying” at the Chantiers de l’Atlantique shipyard […]

The Future of Tour Operators in the Caribbean

beach at the mousai

This summer, ALG Vacations (ALGV) will be launching Luxe by ALG Vacations, a comprehensive luxury travel program designed to cater to a high-end clientele. Many advisors feel this move is yet another indicator that the tour operator business has become […]

In Grenada, the Caribbean's Best New Luxury Resort

grenada view of resort

Your suite or villa comes with its own pool. All of them do. Every single suite at the new Six Senses in Grenada is nearly 600 sq ft with an expansive deck looking out at the lagoon, the bay or […]


Sign up for Caribbean Journal's free newsletter for a daily dose of beaches, hotels, rum and the best Caribbean travel information on the net.

No. Thank You