Barbados to Assume CARICOM Chairmanship


Above: Barbados (CJ Photo)

By Dana Niland
CJ Contributor

Barbados Prime Minister Freundel Stuart will assume chairmanship of the 15-member Caribbean Community (CARIOM) on July 1, replacing Prime Minister Perry Christie of the Bahamas.

Stuart will first address CARICOM in his capacity as chairman at the Opening Ceremony of the 36th Regular Meeting of the Conference Heads of Government on July 2 at the Hilton Barbados Resort.

Also addressing the community will be newly elected heads including Premier of Montserrat, Donaldson Romeo; Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis, Dr Timothy Harris; President of Guyana, David Granger; Prime Minister of Dominica Roosevelt Skerrit; and President of Suriname, Desi Bouterse.

CARICOM Secretary General, Ambassador Irwin LaRocque, will also deliver a speech.

Over 150 delegates will travel to Barbados to attend the summit, along with dozens of journalists and media persons from around the Caribbean.


Trending Stories

See More