British Virgin Islands Election Results: Ruling NDP Wins Reelection


Above: the British Virgin Islands (CJ Photo)

By the Caribbean Journal staff

The ruling National Democratic Party has won the British Virgin Islands’ national elections, according to results released by the BVI’s Office of the Supervisor of Election.

Premier Orlando Smith’s NDP took 11 out of 13 seats in Monday’s poll. That represented an increase of two seats over the party’s majority win in 2011.

Smith will remain Prime Minister, a post in which has served since 2011.

The remaining two seats were won by Opposition the Virgin Islands Party.

“I extend my appreciation to the complement of staff employed in this general election in particular my returning officers, presiding officers, tally clerks, poll clerks, tabulators, administrative staff and my Deputy, Ms. Lorna Christopher,” said Juliette Penn, the BVI’s Supervisor of Elections, in a statement. “This is one exercise in which the community comes together to ensure democracy is served and that elections are free and fair in the Virgin Islands.”

Smith won one of four territorial-at-large constituencies; the largest number of votes was actually won by fellow NDP member Myron Walwyn, who took home 5,777 votes.


Trending Stories

See More