Guyana’s New Cabinet


Above: Guyana Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo is sworn in

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Guyana has a new Cabinet, following swearing in ceremonies this week.

The 15-minister Cabinet includes members of both the A Partnership for National Unity and Alliance for Change parties, the coalition that ended 23 years of rule by the PPP/C party.

Incoming President David Granger leads an administration with Prime Minister and First Vice President Moses Nagamootoo.

Granger urged the new Cabinet to help the government “effectively execute its mandate to improve the lives of Guyanese.”

“We are committed to have a Cabinet which is committed to national unity; we’re committed to have a Cabinet which is committed to have efficiency and transparency,” Granger said. “I feel proud to have behind me a group of men and women who are going to transform Guyana and see that we have a good life for all Guyanese.”

Perhaps most notably, the country’s new Tourism Minister is Cathy Hughes, a media specialist who has said that Guyana needs an “entire public relations” campaign, given that it is “still unknown to many parts of the world.”

See the full list of Cabinet members and portfolios below:



Trending Stories

See More