Cuba Wins Caribbean Series for First Time Since 1960


Above: the Cuban team following its victory

By the Caribbean Journal staff

The Caribbean has a new baseball champion: Cuba.

The island’s Pinar del Rio club won the Caribbean Series this week, 55 years after their previous victory.

Cuba had only returned to series play last year, after more than a half century on the outside of what is the preeminent baseball tournament in the region; that came after Cuba’s government permitted the island’s players to play professionally overseas.

Cuba defeated the Mexican team, Culiacan de Mexico, 3-2, in a match at host island Puerto Rico’s Hiram Bithorn stadium.

The club rebounded to win the crown after two of its players defected early last week.

Cuba “demonstrated that they are the better team,” Mexico manager Benjami Gil said following the loss.


Trending Stories

See More