The US Virgin Islands’ New Cabinet

By: Caribbean Journal Staff - January 2, 2015

Above: St Thomas, USVI (Caribbean Journal photo)

By the Caribbean Journal staff

US Virgin Islands Governor-Elect Kenneth Mapp, who will be sworn in as Governor on Monday, has named the members of his Cabinet.

Mapp defeated US Virgin Islands Delegate to Congress Donna Christensen in a run-off election to win the Governorship.

Mapp will serve with Osbert E. Potter as his Lieutenant Governor.


Above: US Virgin Islands Governor Elect Kenneth Mapp

The new Cabinet includes 13 members across a range of fields; notably, Mapp chose to retain former Governor John de Jongh’s Tourism Commissioner, Beverly Nicholson-Doty.

See below for the full list of Cabinet members and their portfolios:

Attorney General
Soraya Diase-Coffelt

Department of Education
Sharon McCollum, PhD

Department of Public Works
Gustav James

Department of Sports, Parks & Recreation
Pedro Cruz

Virgin Islands Police Department-Acting Commissioner
Delroy Richards

Department of Tourism
Beverly Nicholson-Doty

Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs
Devin Carrington, Esquire

Director of Personnel
Milton E. Potter

Bureau of Internal Revenue
Marvin L Pickering

Motor Vehicle Bureau
Lawrence Olive

St. Thomas Administrator
Lawrence T. Boschulte

St. Croix Administrator
Stephanie S. Williams

St. John Administrator
Camille Parris, Jr.

Popular Posts cape santa maria

From Anguilla to Aruba, the Best Caribbean Beaches to Visit This Summer

Forget the Hamptons, forget Santorini. And Florida? There’s a reason snowbirds go home in the summer. If you’re looking for a summertime beach getaway, the Caribbean is it. The water is deliciously warm, the trade winds keep you cool and […]

From Belize to Grenada, 10 Little Caribbean Beach Resorts to Visit Right Now 


There are different resorts for different vacations, different tastes, different moods. For some, there’s something delicious about a pint-sized, tiny Caribbean resort, where the emphasis is on the intimate, the serene. Where the soundtrack isn’t a piped-in DJ set, but […]

Southwest Airlines Is Starting New Flights to Turks and Caicos, Cayman and The Bahamas 

beach at palms resort with umbrellas

Orlando has become an increasingly important source market for Caribbean travel in recent years, with carriers like Spirit and JetBlue adding new routes to the region to destinations like Cancun, Punta Cana and Puerto Rico.  Now, another carrier has is […]

Related Posts st thomas ritz hotels

US Virgin Islands Tourism Keeps Up Surging Growth 

It’s been one of the biggest success stories in the Caribbean since the pandemic — and the US Virgin Islands continues to pace the rest of the Caribbean tourism industry.  The US Virgin Islands’ most-popular island, St Thomas, was recently […]

New Nonstop Flights From Holland to Bonaire 


Corendon Dutch Airlines will begin twice weekly service from Amsterdam to Bonaire, following the success of its flights to Curaçao and what it called “growing demand” for holidays in Bonaire. The flight, which will operate on Wednesdays and Sundays, will make […]

Two New Hotels Are Coming to the Dominican Republic’s Capital 

st maarten dominican republic flights

A pair of new hotels will soon debut in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, part of the expansion of Southeast Asian operator Archipelago International.  The company, whose Caribbean operations have been focused in Cuba, will be opening two new hotels in […]


Sign up for Caribbean Journal's free newsletter for a daily dose of beaches, hotels, rum and the best Caribbean travel information on the net.

No. Thank You