Jamaica Tallawahs Win First-Ever Caribbean Premier League Championship

By: Caribbean Journal Staff - August 25, 2013

Above: Chris Gayle (Photo: CPL)

By the Caribbean Journal staff

One season of the Caribbean Premier League T20 is in the books, and the Jamaica Tallawahs are the league’s inaugural champions.

The Tallawahs, led by West Indies star and Jamaica native Chris Gayle, took home the crown on Saturday in Port of Spain by defeating the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

In a tightly-contested game, the Tallawahs won by just seven wickets, led by Gayle’s blistering 47.

The match’s conclusion was followed by a fireworks display at the Queen’s Park Oval in downtown Port of Spain.

It was a fitting conclusion to what most see as a very successful debut for the Limacol CPL, which led to significant exposure for the region and for Caribbean cricket — from hollywood actors buying equity stakes to major sponsors like Virgin Atlantic.

“The support of the Limacol CPL by the West Indian fans has been overwhelming and this is evidenced by the sold out crowds at each and every match so far,” West Indies Cricket Board President Dave Cameron said this week. “That says to me that the interest and passion for the game is still there, and it’s our responsibility to continue to nurture that love, which is what the LCPL is all about.”

If the first season is any indication, the future of Caribbean cricket is very bright indeed.

“The entire world has come to play through the global reach and appeal that the Tournament has achieved,” Cameron said. “The combination of some of the best regional and international T20 players with the amazing carnival, party-like atmosphere for which the Caribbean is renowned has turned the eyes and ears of the world to our shores, and we could not be more pleased about that exposure.”

Popular Posts jamaica new hotel montego bay

Looking for a Budget-Friendly Montego Bay Vacation? There's a New Hotel for That  

It’s home to one of the most famous streets in the Caribbean, named after one of Jamaica’s global music icons: Jimmy Cliff Boulevard.  While the heavily-trafficked street has seen its share of ups and downs in recent decades, that’s been […]

At These 13 Resorts, You Can Take the Perfect Adventure-Filled Vacation in Belize

belize blancaneaux

Belize, a Caribbean travel destination full of natural wonders that also happens to have some of the coolest adventure resorts on the planet, from top-flight jungle hotels to luxurious river lodges and just about everything in between, whether you’re seeking […]

Why Ambergris Caye, Belize is the Caribbean Capital of Overwater Bars

belize san pedro ambergris caye

You can hear the ballad from Palapa halfway across Ambergris Caye; for a moment you swear the voice belongs to Dolly Parton herself.  Palapa is the town’s most prominent stage, hosting a revolving door of talented artists for intimate concerts […]

Related Posts jamaica hotel kingston

Delta Is Relaunching Nonstop Flights From New York to Kingston, Jamaica 

Delta Air Lines is bringing back nonstop flights between New York and a burgeoning travel destiantion in Jamaica, Caribbean Journal has confirmed.  It’s another new route for Kingston’s Norman Manley International Airport, an air hub that has quietly been adding […]

Jamaica Adding New Automated Passport Kiosks

doctors cave beach with waves

In a a bid to expedite processing at two of the Caribbean’s busiest airports, Jamaica is adding new automated passport control kiosks in Kingston and Montego Bay.  The new kiosks aim to “streamline passenger flow,” according to a statement from […]

The Cool List: the Coolest Hotels in the Caribbean for 2024

the cool list 2024

They’re different. They’re fun, they’re colorful, they’re unique. They’re themselves. The Caribbean has no shortage of cool hotels and in this, Caribbean Journal’s 12th annual Cool List, we highlight the places that hit you in a different way, that do […]


Sign up for Caribbean Journal's free newsletter for a daily dose of beaches, hotels, rum and the best Caribbean travel information on the net.

No. Thank You