Trinidad and Tobago Assumes Chairmanship of CARICOM


Above: Port of Spain (CJ Photo)

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Trinidad has assumed the chairmanship of CARICOM from Haiti, following the expiration of the latter’s six-month rotating term.

Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar is now the Chairman of the Conference of Heads of Government of CARICOM, and will be presiding over the 34th Meeting of Heads of Government which begins in Port of Spain Wednesday.

Heads of Government including outgoing Chairman and Haiti President Michel Martelly, Bahamas Prime Minister Perry Christie and Barbados Prime Minister Freundel Stuart will be among those speaking on Wednesday.

Trinidad was the scene of the signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas, which founded CARICOM, 40 years ago on July 4, 1973.

In a statement, CARICOM said the meeting would be focusing on “charting a new new direction for growth and development; transportation, the reform process in CARICOM and a proposal for a high-level meeting on persons with disabilities and special needs.”

Venezuela President Nicolas Maduro and Dominican Republic President Danilo Medina will be on hand in Port of Spain for the conference, which ends July 6.

Popular Posts