US Attorney General Eric Holder Names USVI’s Sharpe to Advisory Committee


Above: Ronald Sharpe

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Ronald Sharpe, the United States Attorney for the District of the Virgin Islands, has been named to the Advisory Committee of US Attorney General Eric Holder.

Sharpe will serve for a two-year term on the committee, joined by five other US Attorneys including Utah’s David Barlow, New York’s Richard Hartunian, Michigan’s Barbara McQuade, Idaho’s Wendy Olson and North Carolina’s Anne Tompkins.

“It is a pleasure to welcome the newest members of the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee, a group of US Attorneys with whom I regularly consult on some of the most critical law enforcement and public safety issues facing our country,” Holder said in a statement. “I’m grateful for their service and leadership on the AGAC.”

The committee, which is chaired by US Attorney for the Eastern District of New York, Loretta Lynch, was created in 1973.

Sharpe also serves as a member of the Attorney General’s Border and Immigration Law Enforcement Subcommittee, and several other panels.

He has served as the US Attorney for the USVI since 2009, first in an interim capacity.