Turks and Caicos Cabinet Members Sworn In; House of Assembly to Open Nov. 28


Above: the Turks and Caicos House of Assembly

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Turks and Caicos Governor Ric Todd swore in the new slate of Cabinet Ministers in the territory at a ceremony Wednesday.

While the actual ministerial portfolios have yet to be assigned, Premier Dr Rufus Ewing will lead a Cabinet including six ministers.

Three of the ministers are women, and three are men. The Cabinet held its first meeting Wednesday morning following the ceremony.

Ewing will further consider the assignment of ministers with the Governor in due course, the government said in a statement.

“I am very pleased to report that the first Cabinet meeting was welcome by all present, and was held in a very cordial and businesslike atmosphere,” Todd said in a joint statement with Ewing. “All Cabinet members expressed their determination to work together for the benefit of the Turks and Caicos Islands.”

The Cabinet fixed the date of the recall of the House of Assembly as Nov. 28, a big step for the territory in its return to democratic government.

The Cabinet discussed several other issues, including setting a fortnightly Wednesday regular meeting, and the proposed procedures for the Cabinet.

See the full list of Cabinet members below:

Todd also announced that Foreign Office Minister Mark Simmonds will be visiting the territory from Nov. 26 to Nov. 28.

Popular Posts