Bahamas PM Appoints New Senators


Above: Senator Jerome Gomez

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Bahamian Prime Minister Perry Christie has appointed seven new senators in what is being called the youngest-ever group appointed to the Bahamian Senate.

Christie announced the appointment of Frank Smith, Gregory Burrows, Jerome Gomez, Julian Russell, Gary Sawyer, Alex Storr and Tanisha Tynes.

Those follow the appointments last week of Allyson Maynard Gibson and Keith Bell.

Burrows is the founding president of the Bahamas Baseball Federation. (For more on Burrows, see this CJ video)

Christie said he regretted that he was not able to appoint Clay Sweeting as a senator, due to the fact that he is still in his 20s and therefore not constitutionally eligible at this time.

Renardo Curry, another potential senator, has foregone a senatorial appointment in order to put himself in a position to run in the North Abaco constituency.

North Abaco will soon be officially vacated by Hubert Ingraham, the former Prime Minister who resigned as leader of the Opposition Free National Movement following its defeat in the country’s May 7 vote.

Popular Posts