Turks and Caicos Government Appoints Five New Permanent Secretaries

Above: The Turks and Caicos House of Assembly (Photo: GIS)

By the Caribbean Journal staff

The Turks and Caicos Islands’ government has appointed five new Permanent Secretaries, following ratification by Governor Ric Todd today.

The new Permanent Secretaries are Judith Campbell, Wesley Clerveaux, Clara Gardiner, Susan Malcolm and Anya Williams.

“This is fantastic news as we begin what will be a momentous year for the Turks and Caicos Islands,” Governor Todd said in a statement. “The appointment of these five individuals, and the central role that they will be playing in Civil Society here in the islands, is a key step on the journey that will allow public services to be reformed.”

Todd said public sector reform was one of the eight milestones that would allow United Kingdom ministers to determine if elections would be held in the territory in 2012.

According to the government, one of the first tasks for the new PSs will be to play a role in the creation of five new larger ministries as the government reorganises from the present number of nine ministries.