Holness Names New Jamaican Cabinet


Above: Jamaica’s new cabinet (not pictured: Arthur Williams, Horace Chang)

By the Caribbean Journal staff

Jamaican Prime Minister Andrew Holness has named his new cabinet, preserving much of his predecessor’s group but making some changes of his own.

The full list is below:

Foreign: Dr Kenneth Baugh
Finance: Audley Shaw
Tourism: Edmund Bartlett
National Security: Sen. Dwight Nelson
Industry: Dr Christopher Tufton
Housing: Horace Chang
Labour: Pearnel Charles
Health: Rudyard Spencer
Sports: Olivia Grange
Transport: Mike Henry
Energy: Clive Mullings
Justice: Delroy Chuck
Agriculture: Robert Montague

Three were named Ministers without Portfolio: Daryl Vaz, who will be the Minister without portfolio for the Office of the Prime Minister responsible for Telecommunications and Public Sector Efficiency, and Arthur Williams, who will be a Minister without portfolio for the Cabinet Office responsible for public service and information. The last was Shahine Robinson, who will be Minister without portfolio for a new enhanced Ministry of Housing, Environment, Water and Local Government responsible for Local Government. Robinson had been a state minster under former Prime Minister Bruce Golding.

Vaz, who had been Information Minister, will effectively be replaced by Arthur Williams in the post.